Friday, October 20, 2006


Iraqi Ba'th party issues hit list targeting key players

Security, Politics
The disbanded Iraqi Ba'th Party issued, on September 5, 2006, a hit list of Iraqi political, judicial and military figures, referred to as criminals, collaborators and renegades, targeted for punishment (assassination). The document, shaped as a flyer was issued by the Dhe Qar Directorate of Operation "Special Operations," and addressed to the commanders of the special units, informing them that the order was approved by the secretary-general of the party and the acting commander-in-chief of the armed forces. The reference is to Izzat Ibrahim al-Douri, who was Saddam Hussein's vice president and remains on the most wanted list in Iraq, with a reward of $20 million for his capture.
Fifty names are listed on the original hit list of those targeted for assassination, including President Talabani, ex-PM Iyad Allawi, KRG President Barzani, VP of Iraq and head of the Islamic Party Tariq al-Hashemi and high-ranking judges and prosecutors in Saddam's trial. Below are the first 15 on the list. MEMRI Baghdad has provided the information in brackets on the current or previous positions or titles of the vast majority of those appearing on the hit list:
1. Abd al-Aziz al-Hakim: [Head of the Supreme Command of the Islamic Revolution in Iraq and head of the
ruling Shi'ite coalition in the Iraqi Parliament
2. 'Ammar Abd al-Hakim: [The son of, and often the spokesman for, Abd al-Aziz al-Hakim, and second- ranking official in SCIRI]
3. Hadi al-'Ameri: [Member of Parliament, head of the Badr Militia (SCIRI)]
4. Sadr al-Din al-Qabanchi: [One of the leaders of the Sadrist movement]
5. Muwafaq al-Rabi'i: [Member of Parliament and National Security Adviser]
6. Nuri al-Maliki: [Current Prime Minister]
7. Ali al-Adib: [Member of Parliament, Da'wa Party]
8. Jalal al-Saghir: [Member of Parliament]
9. Ibrahim al-Ja'fari: [Former prime minister]
10. Baqir Jaber Solagh: [Former minister of interior]
11. Ahmad al-Chalabi: [Head of Iraqi National Congress and former deputy prime minister]
12. Abd al-Karim al-Inzi: [Member of Parliament, head of Da'wa Party - Tandhim al-Iraq]
13. Akram al-Hakim: [Member of Parliament, cousin of Abd al-Aziz al-Hakim]
14. Muqtada al-Sadr: [Radical Shi'ite cleric and head of the Mahdi Army]
15. Abd al-Hadi Al-Darraji: [Head of al-Sadr Movement in Baghdad]

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?